You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Comments

• Options
    mumsiemumsie Member Posts: 7,359
    Well, that was stressful to watch.
  • Options
    PaintedOnePaintedOne Member Posts: 236
    madness
  • Options
    stokefcstokefc Member Posts: 7,634
    The moral , don't win big
    Seriously , would i be able at this present time put 3 £1000 bets on sky bet ?
    or would they refuse knowing the most i normally bet is a tenner a week
  • Options
    tai-gartai-gar Member Posts: 2,591
    That took the bets without question and that should be the way that they pay the winnings IMO.
  • Options
    EssexphilEssexphil Member Posts: 8,012
    edited October 2023
    That reminds me of an experience of mine (on a much smaller scale) when I was a student.

Think it was about 1982. Ladbrokes in Dundee. I had put a small "place only" bet on a horse-think it was priced about 10/1.

It actually won-not that that mattered, because I had made a "place only" bet.

Ladbrokes refused to pay out, and pointed to a small sign in their shop saying that the day before they had decided to no longer accept "place only" bets. Whereupon I said they had taken one-mine. They gave me my money back. I said they were refusing to honour a bet, and that had the horse lost, they would have kept the money.

They threatened to call the police. Whereupon I said that I was leaving, and I would never ever place a bet with Ladbrokes ever again. And I haven't.

The terrible thing about leaving compliance to the "pay out" stage is that a bookmaker is awarding itself a "no lose" gamble. At the customer's expense.
  • Options
    mumsiemumsie Member Posts: 7,359
    edited October 2023