You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Poker virgin, help needed :D

angel2angel2 Member Posts: 5
edited June 2009 in Poker Chat
Hello everyone

I am very new to poker and know the very basics but have been enjoy playing the odd game.
What is the best way to learn about when to call, raise, fold and by how much etc? Also, i hear a lot mentioned about being out of position. Are all these things something you learn over time or are there a set of basic rules?  I think i am more lucky at times than skilled and i also probably confuse the life out of my oponents with my wild, inconsistent betting. All advice , gratefully received . Thanks
Angelina :)

Comments

• Options
    Tikay10Tikay10 Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 161,200
    edited June 2009

Hi Angelina,

Wow, that's a BIG question.

Have you watched any of the Sky Poker School, or Sky Poker Shows? They might help.

Do you want to play Live, or Inline, or both?

Cash or Tournaments?

And lastly (for now), what part of the UK, roughly, do you live in?

Answer that lot, & we'll move on to the next Level!

Oh, & welcome to the Sky Poker Forum.
  • Options
    angel2angel2 Member Posts: 5
    edited June 2009

Hello

Thank you for replying!
    I watch a lot of the shows and try to see the reason why people make the moves and bets  they do . The hand analysis is always helpful. I think i am realising more  not to chase hands , which as a novice it's easy to do and all the finger crossing and hoping in the world, often doesnt work.

I live in Essex and i will be playing online. I dont think i would be confident enough to go and play live at the moment.

I have played the cash tables but i have been enjoying the SnG's lately. I think tournaments may be more enjoyable for me than cash .