You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Can you rate my latest tournament ending hand?

chall425chall425 Member Posts: 4
edited December 2021 in Strategy

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to poker (3-4 months).  Lately I have frequently managed to get in or around the bubble in £500 b/h or £250 gtd speed.

I'm trying to continue the improvement in my game but seem to be going out in similar circumstances.

Would be grateful for any advice on my latest losing hand. (finished 32nd in £500 b/h). 

Thanks

PlayerActionCardsAmountPotBalanceTIS-DUDSmall blind 400.00400.0023375.01chall425Big blind 800.001200.0011440.00 Your hole cardsQJ   gibbzyFold    Chel2310Fold    NeedaBrewFold    JONESY72Raise 1600.002800.0024325.00TIS-DUDFold    chall425Call 800.003600.0010640.00Flop  Q22   chall425Check    JONESY72Bet 1600.005200.0022725.00chall425Raise 4000.009200.006640.00JONESY72Call 2400.0011600.0020325.00Turn  8   chall425All-in 6640.0018240.000.00JONESY72Call 6640.0024880.0013685.00chall425ShowQJ   JONESY72ShowQK   River  4   JONESY72WinTwo Pairs, Queens and 2s24880.00 38565.00

Comments

• Options
    SlipwaterSlipwater Member Posts: 3,587
    edited February 2014
    Well, I don't think you should be check-raising the flop here. By doing that all you are representing is a queen, and - invariably - either he folds (if he doesn't have one), or he calls (if he does). If it's a regular continuation bet, just let him get on with it. Don't raise him off the pot. You want to keep him there if he's bluffing. As it happens, he has the best hand - it happens - but you may have kept your tournament life had you not got more chips in on the flop.
  • Options
    Leeroy546Leeroy546 Member Posts: 13
    edited February 2014
    Obviously a little unlucky to run into that better kicker.