You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

How to win at 6max (I wish!!). By a beginner for beginners.

xfgwdtboswxfgwdtbosw Member Posts: 45
I’m new to Poker. I’ve been playing on Sky for 12 months and previously I had 2 months on another Poker site. A chance conversation got me interested and I now I’m totally hooked and play most days. I guess i’m a winning player cos I’ve only deposited once and I now have more money than when I started! I play cash games NL4, and recently some NL10 (plus the odd free roll) and I only play one table.
I have no desire to play more than one table as it seems too much like hard work!

I use the forum and also watch plenty of YouTube videos. It’s all very interesting but a lot of the advice is given by experts who are playing at higher levels. When you are playing micro stakes I think you need to keep it simple (I certainly do!).

For what it’s worth here’s my top 10 beginners tips for playing the micros. (Your comments will be appreciated but be gentle with me cos I’m no expert)-

1. Position is everything. The first thing I learnt and one of the most important. It took me far too long to really appreciate it.
Don’t just see 2 good hole cards and play them regardless. You can get into some tight and losing spots playing out of position.

2. Don’t worry about losing.
Don’t get too down if you are on a bad run cos you’ll get some good ones to make up for it. I used to keep a daily record of my balance but gave that up because it’s not good to be fixated with daily results.

3. If things are going very badly just stop!.
I saw a survey recently that showed that the biggest problem for most players was physiological. We’ve all been there; you play a few bad hands and suddenly you loose the plot and start chasing every hand. This is simple to correct. Just stop!

4. Don’t worry about playing against multi tablers.