You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

PLO8 DYMs - Top 10 Tips For Beginners

Macacgirl1Macacgirl1 Member Posts: 865
edited December 2021 in Strategy
Written on a train, returning from London after watching England play Kickball!
What a thoroughly ridiculous sport that is. Nice chesseburger though.

Please, please note, I am not an expert. I am not the best, or even amongst the best PLO8 players on Sky. Given the right motivation I'll give anyone a game, but that's a rare day indeed.
When I used to try, I followed pretty much the below guidelines. Even when running on auto-pilot and playing whilst working, or watching a film or chatting away, by following the below I still beat the rake. I've no doubt I would have been more successful playing if I'd followed the below AND paid attention to what others were doing, but winning was never really my 'thing'. I know some people don't believe it, but I am one of those players who 100% genuinely doesn't care if I win or lose.
So, having said that and probably made you think, 'why the **** should we listen to this lunatic' here are my top ten tips for beginners to PLO8. I can guarantee if you're new to the game, by following some of the below, you'll start doing better at the tables.

1. Never play a hand that doesn't contain an Ace.
Ok, obvious situations may dictate otherwise. Level 1 or 2 and you're on the SB holding KKQQ, then join in and limp away.
You're on the BB, need to call half a dozen chips as somebody is all-in, crack on with any old rubbish.
It's a plain simple fact that you have to go a long way down the hand rankings before you find a (starting) hand that doesn't contain an Ace.

2. Make a note as to who the (pre-flop) calling stations are.