You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Beginners Luck?

SilverdallSilverdall Member Posts: 15
edited February 2017 in Brags, Beats and Variance
My friend reckons he read a book about poker then entered an online tournament with over 1300 entries and beat 80% of the field.

Is this possible?

Was it beginners luck or can an absolute beginner beat so many supposedly more experienced players?

Comments

• Options
    percival09percival09 Member Posts: 3,804
    edited December 2016
    Yes, it's possible. It's unlikely but possible. Just like it's unlikely but possible that Phil Ivey would win that tournament. The diff is, howevz, your friend is more unlikely than Phil Ivey because he's a worse player. Fortunately for your friend, poker is a game made up of luck as well as skill, meaning your friend can outcompete Ivey, Negreanu and the rest without having a clue what's going down. 

a) There's no such thing as beginner's luck, just like there's no such thing as intermediate luck or expert luck. There's just luck.

b) Quick learner or not, doesn't really matter.

D) is the most correct of the answers available, but that doesn't really help us out with the point of the thread. 
  • Options
    SilverdallSilverdall Member Posts: 15
    edited January 2017
    In Response to Re: Beginners Luck?: