I was playing a game in the pub a few weeks ago all cards are out and my opponent is to act he turns the river card over so its hidden to work out what ive got I.e bet after the turn
I was playing a game in the pub a few weeks ago all cards are out and my opponent is to act he turns the river card over so its hidden to work out what ive got I.e bet after the turn My question: is he allowed to do this Posted by MrGfc
Do you mean that he turned card over so he could reconstruct the hand better in his mind??
Cant really do it if so. Hes not exactly breaking a rule but its un neccessary and pointless.
seeiing as this has been answered :P and its the same topic ill ask this one rather than new thread it
Playing in pub i have pocket 8s for some reason i went into eyore mode and simply called rather than raise from small blind with 3 other players (moron) flop comes 776 im thinking about the likelyhood of somone having a 7 and bet out big blind calls all else fold before the turn is dealt big blind somehow thinks ive gone all in preturn and flips over 10,7 how do i stand here on the night it was said it goes as normal cause i know what they have but not entirely sure anyway i got away lightly as was ready to ship on turn and in this case folded
yeah simple fold on turn. The hand can still play out but your opponent with the T7 can only call or check. You could check turn and see the river to see if you hit your house knowing your going to get it for free.
seeiing as this has been answered :P and its the same topic ill ask this one rather than new thread it Playing in pub i have pocket 8s for some reason i went into eyore mode and simply called rather than raise from small blind with 3 other players (moron) flop comes 776 im thinking about the likelyhood of somone having a 7 and bet out big blind calls all else fold before the turn is dealt big blind somehow thinks ive gone all in preturn and flips over 10,7 how do i stand here on the night it was said it goes as normal cause i know what they have but not entirely sure anyway i got away lightly as was ready to ship on turn and in this case folded Posted by Henched
I think that you got off lightly here. The player who exposed his hand did not do it to gain any advantage, but due to a misunderstanding. And it is you who benefitted.
I had a similar experience in a biggish tourny in a casino. A player who I know well was constantly raising light from early position. I was on the button with 34 offsuit, and when it was my turn to act shoved him off the pot, thinking there was nobody else in. I triumphantly turned over my hand waiting for the dealer to push the chips over to me. It was then pointed out that another player had called the initial raise and was still to act !
The ruling rightly was that my bet stood and my hand would remain face up. The other player then was able to make his decision. And with 89 suited obviously called.
A lesson to pay proper attention and very embarrassing, particularly when I hit my straight !
Same situation as yours though. His bet stands and you have the right to make your decision knowing his hand.
With regards to the OP, no player should touch any card that is not their own.
seeiing as this has been answered :P and its the same topic ill ask this one rather than new thread it Playing in pub i have pocket 8s for some reason i went into eyore mode and simply called rather than raise from small blind with 3 other players (moron) flop comes 776 im thinking about the likelyhood of somone having a 7 and bet out big blind calls all else fold before the turn is dealt big blind somehow thinks ive gone all in preturn and flips over 10,7 how do i stand here on the night it was said it goes as normal cause i know what they have but not entirely sure anyway i got away lightly as was ready to ship on turn and in this case folded Posted by Henched
Off course if you have the cahones and his hand is beatable yu could reraise him blinds/pot sizes determine this to get him of the hand by saying i see what you have ive got it beaten
quick question, out of curiosity really. playing in a pub in a recent game im dealt 4 6 off suit blinds are 30 60 all fold apart from me and dealer he bets 100, i call flop comes 7 3 4 then he shoved, i called hit the straight and his nines were no good. he then slates me saying bad call bad player as such was it a bad call or was i right to call?? is there such a thing as bad play for calling bad hands and winningoff them ? like 2 , 3off suit then hit straight?
quick question, out of curiosity really. playing in a pub in a recent game im dealt 4 6 off suit blinds are 30 60 all fold apart from me and dealer he bets 100, i call flop comes 7 3 4 then he shoved, i called hit the straight and his nines were no good. he then slates me saying bad call bad player as such was it a bad call or was i right to call?? is there such a thing as bad play for calling bad hands and winningoff them ? like 2 , 3off suit then hit straight? Posted by bigtime944
I wouldn't call all in with middle pair and a gutshot, no.
Your play is bad, IMO, his play is illegal - With blinds @ 30/60, the minimum raise is to 120, so if he raised to 100, that's not allowed, unless 100 chips = all in, of course. So he's the last person that can say bad play
Comments
Cant really do it if so. Hes not exactly breaking a rule but its un neccessary and pointless.
Prob best to call him on it out of principle
Playing in pub
i have pocket 8s for some reason i went into eyore mode and simply called rather than raise from small blind with 3 other players (moron) flop comes 776 im thinking about the likelyhood of somone having a 7 and bet out big blind calls all else fold before the turn is dealt big blind somehow thinks ive gone all in preturn and flips over 10,7 how do i stand here on the night it was said it goes as normal cause i know what they have but not entirely sure
anyway i got away lightly as was ready to ship on turn and in this case folded
I had a similar experience in a biggish tourny in a casino. A player who I know well was constantly raising light from early position. I was on the button with 34 offsuit, and when it was my turn to act shoved him off the pot, thinking there was nobody else in. I triumphantly turned over my hand waiting for the dealer to push the chips over to me. It was then pointed out that another player had called the initial raise and was still to act !
The ruling rightly was that my bet stood and my hand would remain face up. The other player then was able to make his decision. And with 89 suited obviously called.
A lesson to pay proper attention and very embarrassing, particularly when I hit my straight !
Same situation as yours though. His bet stands and you have the right to make your decision knowing his hand.
With regards to the OP, no player should touch any card that is not their own.