You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Sports Betting for beginners

NColleyNColley Member Posts: 1,178
edited February 2012 in Sports & Betting Chat
Hello betting regs,

Would like some tips on betting in general, how you conduct your research and come to the decisions on who/what/when to bet.

I'm not a complete beginner, I mean I've done the odd accumulator and single betting on football matches but its something I'd like to look into.

Comments

• Options
    FLASHJONNYFLASHJONNY Member Posts: 2,537
    edited February 2012
    well the obvious 1 is only bet what you can afford keep clear of fa cup games and all weather racing father v is the man to give you advice
  • Options
    vaigretvaigret Member Posts: 16,315
    edited February 2012
    Thanks Flashjonny for your endorsement and your tip  on betting what you can afford is the main one really. This lark should be a hope of winning more bets than losing them and having a bit of fun as well. There is no point betting if it is going to worry the guts out of you.

I don't really bet on anything other than the horses. I only bet on other sports when I see really stand out odds for what i think is a near certainty. The most important thing to pick up is value, if your choice of a winner in your opinion is 6-1 and the bookies are giving you better than that go for it. although knowing what is value takes a bit of time to learn.

On horses if I am picking a horse 3-1 or shorter in odds I have to be pretty sure it is going to win to back it. over that you can be a bit more adventurous and I would always say back each way 4-1 or over. If your horse is as good as you think it is at that price even if it doesnt win it should be placed and in a lot of circumstances at that price you wont make a loss.