You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Advice needed

Dudeskin8Dudeskin8 Member Posts: 6,228
edited July 2009 in Poker Chat

Hi, i'm fairly new to Poker and was just wandering what sort of Bankroll I need, obviously i'm gonna be starting on the 2p/4p level so what would be the bare minimum and recommended amount ?

Also is the No-limit cash tables the best option for me or should i be just sticking to the free-rolls?

Comments

• _AppleMac__AppleMac_ Member Posts: 126
    edited June 2009

Some players only put down 5% of their bankroll on any given one table, be it cash or tournament poker.

Personally I play with cash that I can afford to lose, otherwise I feel you get into risky territory. Play at a rate that is confortable to you... If you feel you can play at the 2p/4p level and not concern yourself about losing a big hand within this then that is fine...

I have tried cash at the 50p/£1 level and although the standard of poker is good and more enjoyable to play, some of the pots can rise very fast... and if then you end up with a pot thats £70+ and you think of that as cash then it can be quite daunting, and if this is the case you are playing at too high a level...!

I stopped playing cash soon after I started playing poker and changed to MTT's as thats what my game suited, cash is quite the different beast...!

As you said, you havent played much poker before and you want to get used to the structure, and you don't want to invest cash play some freerolls...!

I don't know what cash players normally suggest. Would be good to see...

• NoseyBonkNoseyBonk Member Posts: 6,175
    edited June 2009
    In Response to Re: Advice needed:
    Some players only put down 5% of their bankroll on any given one table, be it cash or tournament poker. Posted by _AppleMac_