You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

The entire Albanian village built on British cash:

Comments

• Options
    EssexphilEssexphil Member Posts: 7,999
    lucy4 said:

The context of

tomgoodun said:

lucy4 said:

paid for with money sent from their son who entered Britain illegally

Could you point out the ‘legal’ route for people to settle in Britain please.
    I'm no legal expert but I'd thought hiding in the back of a lorry to gain entry to a country doesn't constitute a legitimate reason for asylum.
    I am, or more accurately was, a legal expert.

We currently have a system where, for about 90% of the World's refugees, the current rules for asylum to this country are:-

1. You can only make an asylum application when physically present in the UK
    2. There is no legal method for 90% of Refugees to enter this country

These people have various motivations. For some, it is to earn money. For others it is to flee oppression.

But all of them are so desperate to come here that they pay Organised Crime thousands of pounds to come here. Which means they are either incredibly stupid. Or incredibly desperate.

Their asylum applications should have nothing to do with how they come here-simply because they have no legal route (unless you are a multi-millionaire, or come from 1 of about 3 countries). Like any application, it should be decided on its merits. Whether they deserve to be allowed to Remain, either temporarily or permanently. According to their risk, and what they can bring to this country in terms of skill.

Instead of deriding every person who wants to come here, we should be looking to take in some, and rejecting most. Rather than doing nothing and watching the problems build up.
  • Options
    HAYSIEHAYSIE Member Posts: 32,020
    lucy4 said:

The context of

tomgoodun said:

lucy4 said: