You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

How do you rate yourself?

silentbobsilentbob Member Posts: 2,137
edited January 2010 in Poker Chat

There seems to be more & more posts slating bad players & the like so I thought I'd see what people really thought of their own skill level.

Personally, I see myself as just below average. One day with some luck on the night, I might well take down one of the 8pm tourneys but it's more than likely that I won't. And you know what, that's absolutely fine. I'm not a professional and there are certain things in the finer points of the game that I don't think I'll ever understand & that's why I'll always play the stakes that I do. I make a small profit the majority of the time to keep me ticking over & allow me to indulge in what is really nothing more than a hobby.

I understand the basics, the concept of pot odds (actual & implied) & the importance of position but sometimes, although I understand these things I don't always put them into practice (particularly the odds simply because I'm not all that great at maths). All of this means I know my own game has its limits which will affect not just me, but everyone else sat on my tables with me. I promise you that there will be times when I'll make a bad call & get lucky & there will also be times when I make a play at the wrong time and get lucky (as I did earlier & was promptly berated by someone at the table who wasn't even involved in the hand!). However, for every time I get it in with the worst of it I know for a fact that I'm gonna lose more than I win in those situations.

Having said all that, I do have a decent understanding of what I'm doing so all I ask is that when I do get lucky please understand that it's the nature of the beast.