You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

PLO cash strategy

PhilAny2_QPhilAny2_Q Member Posts: 16
edited November 2014 in Strategy
first of all sorry if this is badly written, this is the first time ive done anything like this. I started playing plo cash about a year after learning holdem and ever since have preferred it to holdem cash, i hope you players that have never tried it give it a chance, and if you do im sure you will never look back.

PLO or 'pot limit omaha' is primarily a cash game, where each player is dealt 4 cards rather than 2 like holdem. Each player MUST use 2 cards and ONLY 2 cards from their hand to make a 5 card hand using 3 from the board, so for example or the beginners if you hold Ah-Kc-Qs-10D and the board rolls out 6H-7H-9h-Kd-2H even though you have the ace of hearts in your hand and there is 4 hearts on the board unlike in holdem you do not have a flush because you MUST use 2 cards from your hand, this may take some getting used to for players that have only ever played holdem.
The thing that makes plo great in my opinion is that because you are dealt 4 cards instead of 2 it means you can play a wider range of starting hands because it is primarily a post flop drawing game, so if your like me and you dont like folding alot this game is perfect. 
you may have heard people say about the swings of plo compared to holdem, this is because the money goes in on the flop alot more often than in holdem because it is so common for 2 hands to clash for example,
player a Ah-Ac-9H-10c player b 6d-7d-8s-9s        flop    Ad-5d-6s      as you can see player a has top set and player b has wrap and a flushdraw and i know that some holdem players wil think that this is a very extreme scenario but in fact this and very similar situations come up alot more than you think, you often find getting all your money in on the flop in a flip or 60/40 situation.