You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Reliable internet, DESPERATE for some advice please from tech guys and grinders

JohnConnorJohnConnor Member Posts: 1,160
edited July 2011 in Community Help & Advice

Hi,

My problem is quite simple but I have no idea how to solve it as I'm not very good with computers etc.
Basically, I just want a reliable internet connection that is capable of multitabling 12 tables with no problems. I want to play on Sky full-time but as things stand it is impossible.  

Having had 2 months of constant problems with my internet connection I think the problem may lie with my ISP, Virgin (hope its OK to name them). The problem basically is that my connection seems to fail in some way (not completely) but it causes the tables to become completely unplayable and I get the network error mesage, reconnection message, reload table message etc etc. (When these problems occur internet pages also fail to load on this PC andlaptops around the house.) As a result I have no confidence playing anymore and have lost countless buy-ins over the last couple of months purely down to connection problems.

I think the problem may be the ISP for the following reasons:

I've been in touch with Sky (who were very helpful) and there is no real reason why multitabling 12+ tables should be impossible (even difficult really) and this is also obvious as there players on here who do this routinely.

My PC is new (maybe 6 weeks old?). The spec should be more than capable of multitabling (6 processors etc). The processors are AMD and I have since been led to believe that Intel would have been better but that these should still have no probs. Also, the problems with internet pages not loading occur on laptops around the house.

I bought a new router to replace the standard one. It is apparantly a decent one (Belkin playmax - £100).