You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

DYM and MTT Tournament Play

cobbler78cobbler78 Member Posts: 65
edited March 2010 in Poker Chat
I have been playing regularly for around 6 months now, and until recently have been playing the £5 DYM tournaments, my sharkscope graph was gradually going up, but with the 10% rake even if you win 5 and lose 4 you are not in any profit (well 50p). I found that I probably won around 65%-70% of these games over about 500 games, which was boosting my bankrole but only very gradually. I then started playing a few £3 tournaments and the £5 Velocity at 11.10pm every night and I have found, although you win less frequesntly, when you do actually cash it is usually for a decent amount (I finished 4th on Monday and 4th last night in the Velocity with around 120 runners each time) I have basically been playing with the same strategy as I used to some success on the DYM tables and is seems to have served me well.

So what I was wondering is:

What is a good win/cash ratio on the DYM tables when you are only doubling your money and what is a good win/cash ratio in the MTT's. Also, are the tactics employed really that different?

Comments

• Options
    BlackFish3BlackFish3 Member Posts: 2,418
    edited March 2010
    dym... aim for 60%+ super consistently and you should grind out a steady but slow profit.
  • Options
    edited March 2010
    That is a really slow profit though isn't it? over 100 games I would be up by £50 on the £5 tables, that meants investing £550 and winning £600, surely a better return could be had on a consistent basis on the MTT's, id like to think out of 100 MTT's I would cash at least 30 times for more than £20 on average...or is this too optomistic?
  • Options
    BlackFish3BlackFish3 Member Posts: 2,418
    edited March 2010