You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

From despair to where? SR23's cash/no cash diary

Comments

• Options
    CarnageCarnage Member Posts: 48
    "earning £500 a day working in Holland'. Please expand.
  • Options
    SR23SR23 Member Posts: 1,228
    NOSTRI said:

SR23 said:

engy said:

looking forward to reading this SR23. which poker mag did you write for?

Cheers Engy - I wrote "An Idiot's Guide to Poker" for Unibet (roughly 90 columns) and another 60 or so columns for NordicBet. Lots of the mags were folding/scaling back just as I began my poker writing "career" and I didn't get to write for any actual print publications. Sad times.
    There's money to be made online too. I used to be a freelance writer and many of the online sites will pay you £50 or so for a good pitch. It's not much but if you can pump them out it adds up. Some of the more prestigious places pay more. Can think of at least a few that would be interested in stuff about poker. Colson Whitehead wrote a really great series about his time at the WSOP on Grantland 10-odd years ago. They had a great oral history of the Moneymaker WSOP too. I think places like Deadspin, Daily Dot, Buzzfeed, etc would all go for poker stuff too depending on the pitch.

I wanted to shop a write-up of the Galfond challenge around recently but I've forgotten how to write non-academic stuff.