You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Straight from the toes - Quickfeet's blog

QUICKFEETQUICKFEET Member Posts: 528
edited October 2017 in Poker Chat
Right... where do I start
I love the forum... and you may have noticed I have been contributing to threads more often laterly. I have decided to do my bit for the community by starting my own blog. I am very much a rec and until recently a net depositer in quite a big way... May be the story of someone who was rubbish but is now playing "sustainable" poker will help others.
I have been on SkyPoker, as a complete novice at the game, since September 2009. Beginning with the Saturday afternoon "Soccer Saturday Super 6" freerolls, I made a small deposit. That lasted until the following Spring. When it ran out, I was unsure whether to continue. I had qualified for a freeroll that had prizes of seats in the Friday Night Main which was a Deepstack Freezeout in those days. I qualified and then in the Main I just got into a rythym more less playing every other hand whenever I had an Ace with a painted kicker or pocket pairs. The hands I played mostly won and I had a huge chip lead at the FT which I held on to and won about £1,400.
This was a good and bad thing. To avoid paying a fee on my credit card when withdrawing such a large amount, I applied for a debit card to take out the funds. While this was being set up, the temptation of having so much money in my poker account was too much for me.
I started to fritter it away on SNGs and moved up to higher stakes when trying to recover my losses. The worst thing I could have done... I now know.
I did withdraw £600 in the end but kept playing in the same manner. So over time I deposited the £600 back in and a whole lot more.