You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Options

Shamima Begum: Ex-Bethnal Green schoolgirl who joined IS 'wants to come home'

Comments

• Options
    DoublemeDoubleme Member Posts: 1,575

Doubleme said:

I cannot comment on law as I am not a qualified lawyer. What I will say is this appears to be a situation that evokes vigorous debate. On the one hand we have someone who appears to have betrayed our country and joined with an enemy that is calling for the death/enslavement of us all. On the other hand we have someone who made a mistake at 15 and yeah at 15 I was stupid and capable of making some silly mistakes.

The thing is rather then getting emotive and worrying about sympathy and forgiveness or anger and hate we should try to look at the actuality of the situation.

We have someone who is sympathetic to views that justify mass terrorism who even when she was apart from them and meant to have changed was advocating for their side.

If she came back here how sure can we be that she would not be behind a mass terrorist attack? to those that think we absolutely should let her back in how would you feel if your son or daughter was killed in a terrorist attack that she was later involved in?

a good illustration is pedophiles I know its off topic but as an analogy its known that those who were abused as children are more likely to become child abusers themselves. Now that is not me saying we should lock up or restrict the rights of those abused by pedophiles that would be insane. But if we have someone who is a pedophile or advocates for pedophilia whislt they may have been a victim before and that may invoke some sympathy would you want them living on the same street as your children? I would not.